Author: Ibi Zoboi & Yusef Salaam (of the Exonerated Five)

 

New York Times and USA Today bestseller * Goodreads Finalist for Best Teen Book of the Year * Time Magazine Best Book of the Year * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year  * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * New York Public Library Best Book of the Year

From award-winning, bestselling author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. One of the most acclaimed YA novels of the year, this New York Times and USA Today bestseller is a must-read for fans of Jason Reynolds, Walter Dean Myers, and Elizabeth Acevedo and is now available in paperback! 

 

The story that I thought

was my life

didn’t start on the day

I was born 

 

Amal Shahid has always been an artist and a poet. But even in a diverse art school, because of a biased system he’s seen as disruptive and unmotivated. Then, one fateful night, an altercation in a gentrifying neighborhood escalates into tragedy. “Boys just being boys” turns out to be true only when those boys are white. 

 

The story that I think

will be my life 

starts today

 

Suddenly, at just sixteen years old, Amal is convicted of a crime he didn’t commit and sent to prison. Despair and rage almost sink him until he turns to the refuge of his words, his art. This never should have been his story. But can he change it? 

 

With spellbinding lyricism, award-winning author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam tell a moving and deeply profound story about how one boy is able to maintain his humanity and fight for the truth in a system designed to strip him of both.

Punching the Air

SKU: 9780062996497
$12.00Price
  • If you are not satisfied with your purchase, you may return it for a refund. We will issue a refund for the purchase price of the item plus any applicable taxes to your original form of payment for items returned within 30 days. All returned items must be in their brand new, original condition; shrink-wrapped products must be unopened. Shipping fees are not refunded.

    Please send an email to orders@dabookjoint.com for a return authorization number.

  • When do you ship? Orders are shipped Monday – Friday.

    Where do you ship to? We ship domestically as well as internationally. If you have a question about shipments, please email orders@dabookjoint.com.

    How do you ship? Most of our orders ship via USPS. We will also use UPS at your request. Since we do ship most of our orders via USPS, our website will only allow you to choose that as a shipping option. However, there is a comments box on the shipping selection screen where you can write in your desired shipping method. Small orders going to Canada and internationally will almost always be sent by USPS to help save on shipping cost and brokerage fees. Orders going to APO/FPO boxes will also be sent via USPS.

    Rates to ship? We charge a flat rate for shipping of $3.50 per book. Any orders over $50 will ship for free.

    How to track an order that's been shipped? If a tracking number is available and an email address was provided at the time of order, you will receive an automated email from either UPS or USPS with your tracking number once the order ships.

    Are the items in stock? All items are normally held in stock. However, we may sometimes run out due to sudden demand, in which case we will notify you and inform you of the date we expect to receive more stock.

    What are the lead times? We aim to ship orders within 2 working days for domestic orders and 4 working days for international orders. However, this may sometimes be longer due to other circumstances such as order volume and backorders.